2001 Inductees

Whether they are a past Sidney High School graduate,
a former staff member, or someone who has had a significant impact on our community, the achievements of these inductees are a source of pride for Sidney City schools and our community.

Jayne Wurstner Felgen (SHS 1962) has distinguished herself as a nurse, administrator, author and teacher. President of Creative HealthCare Management of Minneapolis, Minnesota, Felgen has been a leader in the field of health awareness.

Paul E. Fitzwater was a music teacher at Sidney City Schools from 1947 through 1971. Under his direction, the Sidney City Schools’ music department expanded extensively into previously uncharted areas of elementary music and other musical programs.

J. Richard Henke (SHS 1942) was the owner and operator of Sidney Dairy for 38 years. A community servant and volunteer, Henke was instrumental in the development of the YMCA and the Community Foundation.

Benjamin LeFevre is one of Shelby County’s most famous politicians. Following his service as a soldier during the Civil War, he was elected as the youngest member to the 65th and 66th Ohio General Assemblies and was later elected to the 46th session of the United States House of Representatives.

Gary VanFossen (SHS 1954) has been a leader in nearly every branch of government in Shelby County. A member of the Sidney City Schools Board of Education, he was also a councilman, mayor and county commissioner.

The Sidney High School Yellow Jacket Football Teams of 1968, 1969 and 1970 were victorious in 30 straight games. These teams were a source of school and community pride.