1999 Inductees

Whether they are a past Sidney High School graduate,
a former staff member, or someone who has had a significant impact on our community, the achievements of these inductees are a source of pride for Sidney City schools and our community.

William T. Amos (SHS 1927)was a Phi Beta Kappan at Miami University. He was a prominent community, civic and philanthropic leader who served as editor of the Sidney Daily News and Linn’s Stamp News. Bill and his wife, Dorothy, gave generously to their community, church and university.

John T. Blake (SHS 1959) was a finance and community leader. He guided Society Bank in Dayton and the Commercial Loan Division of Key Corp in Seattle and Cleveland. His philanthropic activities include leadership on numerous boards including education, child welfare and the arts.

Betty Weaver Fridley was a longtime Sidney High School teacher known for establishing high standards for students and being a pioneer in the field of business education. Her 29 years at SHS were marked by numerous student success stories, strong school-business partnerships and a persuasive voice for equality of salaries for women teachers.

Wilbur E. Johnston, DDS (SHS 1943) gained notoriety in several sports locally before serving as an aircraft navigator during World War II. After a successful academic and athletic experience at Ohio State, Dr. Johnston embarked on a dental surgery career while becoming a recognized leader in the horse breeding industry.

Patrick H. Milligan (SHS 1946) graduated from Sidney High School in 1946 and went on to enjoy a distinguished basketball and academic career at The College of Wooster. He owned and operated Milligan Construction Inc. and Sidney Sand and Gravel for 40 years while providing long-time leadership for the Ohio Presbyterian Homes. In 1997, Mr. Milligan received the Chamber of Commerce Zenith Award.

Jenny Zorn, PhD (SHS 1976) was valedictorian of the class of 1976. Dr. Zorn was an outstanding athlete in both high school and college before joining the faculty of California State-San Bernardino in 1989. She is a nationally known leader in geography education and received the 1998 Distinguished Teaching Achievement Award from the National Council for Geographic Education.