2000 Inductees

Whether they are a past Sidney High School graduate,
a former staff member, or someone who has had a significant impact on our community, the achievements of these inductees are a source of pride for Sidney City schools and our community.

John Harmony (SHS 1918) enlisted in the army and was appointed from the ranks to West Point Academy. Harmony was a recipient of numerous honors including the Legion of Merit Medal, the Bronze Star and the Cross of Military Valor. He retired from the Army following 40 years of service having served in three wars.

Marianne Lauterbur Helmlinger taught in Sidney Schools for 32 years, retiring in 1986. She was the co-founder of Shelby County’s Alliance for the Mentally Ill, having served as president several years. Helmlinger has been program chairman and vice-president of the Shelby County AARP and was Shelby County Senior Citizen of the Year in 1993.

James Humphrey (SHS 1939) served city government for 12 years as mayor, councilman and vice-mayor. He was a deacon of the Mount Vernon Baptist Church for over 40 years and was active in the Ohio Tri-County NAACP and Ohio State NAACO for Afro-American History.

Tomas Kisielius, MD (SHS 1964) was the clinical associate professor of Medicine at the Loyola University Medical Center and was president of the medical staff of the Resurrection Medical Center. He was the CEO of the Illinois Regional Oncology Network.

Steve Lorton (SHS 1964) After serving with the US Army in Korea, he became a writer for Sunset magazine and is now the Northwest Bureau Chief. Mr. Lorton appears on television in Los Angeles three times a week. He founded the Seattle Street Advisory Board and served on the board of the Washington Park Arboretum.

Richard Slagle (SHS 1944) was a charter member of the Sidney Jaycees and the Outstanding Jaycee President of Ohio for two years. After moving to Middletown, he was promoted to the position of vice-president of administrative services at Armco Steel. Slagle later became the senior consultant at Executive Communications Group and the executive director of Wadsworth Golf Charities Foundation.